My Unexpected Forever by Heidi McLaughlin | Book Review

Title: My Unexpected Forever (The Beaumont Series #2)
Author: Heidi McLaughlin
Publication Date: September 2, 2013
Genre: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary

Synopsis

I expected a life of music.
I expected to raise my son.
It took one look to make everything change.
I never expected happiness.

I never expected to find her.
I never expected to feel desire.
I never expected I’d be a family man.
I never expected to be loved.
I never expected to fall in love.

They say you should expect the unexpected, I didn’t realize my unexpected would be the forever kind.

Review

My Unexpected Forever is the second book of The Beaumont Series. It follows the story of Josie’s best friend and Liam’s band mate. It is about moving on and falling in love with someone you didn’t expect to.

After the death her husband, Katelyn tried to provide for the twins by working as 4225 West’s manager. Harrison, the band’s drummer becomes interested in her, but he isn’t Katelyn’s type. He is nothing like her husband. He has a bad boy image, tattoos and rides a motorcycle. But, as Katelyn gets to know him she realizes there’s more to him than meets the eye. He is actually a loving father to Quinn, a good man, and a someone who is in love with her.

Katelyn was the character I felt for the most in the first book of the series. I pitied her because she had just lost her husband and was left to raise their kids alone. But, in this book I was annoyed by her. Her feelings for Harrison is hot and cold, one moment she’s all over him, the next she is saying he is not her type. She’s also too dependent on the men around her, especially Liam and Harrison. I think the story would have better if she had some sort of character development, like realizing that she can take care of herself and her children without relying too much on others.

Harrison is my favorite male lead in the series. He is a sweetheart. He’s very patient with Katelyn and he loves her daughters like his own. He stayed by her side and waited for her to be ready before making a move.

Overall, My Unexpected Forever is steamier than Forever My Girl. There’s one scene that’s really hot. But, I have the same complaint with this book, as the first one. It is about how none of main characters act like adults in their late 20s. They are childish and too sappy. I wished they’s take on some of the situations more maturely.

My Favorite Lines

“I’m afraid to tell her how I feel because the look on her face will break me. I know she doesn’t want me the way I want her, and I’d rather be her friends than not have her in my life at all.” -p. 6

“The thing is, Katelyn, love doesn’t know the way someone looks. Love knows the inside of who that person is.” -p. 48

“For a brief moment today, I saw us as a family and it didn’t scare me, it made me happy.” -p. 79

“I’m not running or shutting doors. I’m moving because it’s too hard to sit back and watch her life go on while mine is teetering on the edge, waiting for glimmer of hope that she might someday, want to be with me.” -p. 236

My Rating

1 out of 5 stars


What do you think of this review? Share your thoughts and suggest some books for me review in the comment box below or on Goodreads. 🙂

Logo - Girl in Glasses (1)

Leave a comment